Library seal

Databases Available
at the Library


Home > Electronic Resources

Yellow line  

Gale InfoTrac
Which includes the following databases:

Professional Collection 
A collection of journals picked for their relevance in the modern world for today's professional.

InfoTrac OneFile
(1980 - Jan 2003)
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

Expanded Academic ASAP
(1980 - Jan 2003)

From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!

General Reference Center Gold
(1980 - Jan 2003)

A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface. Use General Reference Center Gold to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images. Find the latest current events, popular culture, business and industry coverage, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

General Business File ASAP
(1980 - Jan 2003)

Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.

Health Reference Center Academic
(1980 - Jan 2003)

Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module
(1980 - Jan 2003)

Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.

Informe
(2000 - Ene. 2003)

Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.

Computer Database
(1980 - Jan 2003)

Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.

Student Edition 
Formerly SuperTOM, this database is designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Student Edition - K12 
Formerly SuperTOM, this database is designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Junior Edition
(2000 - Jan 2003)

Formerly SuperTOM Junior, this periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school, with magazines, newspapers and reference books (most are full-text) for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Junior Edition - K12 
Formerly SuperTOM Junior, this periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school, with magazines, newspapers and reference books (most are full-text) for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Kid's Edition
(2000 - Jan 2003)

Formerly PrimaryTOM, this periodical database is designed for elementary school students, with easy access to full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Kid's Edition - K12 
Formerly PrimaryTOM, this periodical database is designed for elementary school students, with easy access to full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

What Do I Read Next?
(Aug 2002)

What Do I Read Next? includes over 100,000 recommended titles, more than 54,000 plot summaries, and awards information from 561 awards, all to help users uncover new reading adventures, find long-remembered favorites, and discover award- winning titles. Search by genre, subject, author, title, series, and more. A monthly highlights page allows the user to see selections of award winners, upcoming titles, and titles that revolve around different subjects each month.

  CAMIO

Offers about 95,000 art images—photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture—plus audio, video and mixed media  that are rights-cleared for educational use.

  ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching for historical documents, personal papers and family histories held in archives throughout the world. ArchiveGrid is an online service that provides access to detailed archival collection descriptions. It includes nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide.

OCLC FirstSearch
Which include the following databases:

WorldCat
the world's foremost bibliographic database, with over 48 million bibliographic records representing 400 languages. WorldCat covers information from before 1,000 BC to the present, and includes holdings information from libraries in 45 countries.

ArticleFirst
Bibliographic citations from over 12,600 serials, covering science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities and popular culture. Features online full text and full image.

ECO
Access to a growing collection of journals in a variety of subject areas, all with full-image articles online. Full-image articles from Electronic Collections Online journals are linked to corresponding citations in databases throughout the FirstSearch service. Articles from many journals can be purchased on a per-article use basis.

ERIC
A guide to published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, with information from RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education). ERIC records now include full-text documents from the ERIC Digest at no extra charge. The ERIC database includes the ERIC thesaurus, a complete list of descriptive terms used by ERIC to index and search the database. From ERIC, users can link to EDRS (ERIC Document Reproduction Service) to purchase documents through existing ERIC accounts.

GPO
Consists of records published by the GPO since July 1976. Includes references for documents to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more.

MEDLINE
Covers all areas of medicine, including clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and much more. Now includes the MeSH thesaurus.

OAIster
Contains digital resources (including:
* born-digital texts
* audio files
* images
* movies
* datasets)
 from open archive collections (including:
* theses
* technical reports
* research papers
* image collections) with a digital object link allowing users access to the object.

.

PapersFirst
Covers every congress, symposium, exposition, workshop, and meeting added to The British Library Document Supply Centre's (BLDSC) vast proceedings collection since October 1993. The BLDSC is a document supplier for the OCLC Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.

ProceedingsFirst
Provides tables of contents of papers presented at conferences worldwide. Each record contains a list of the papers presented at each conference. Like its companion, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst provides access to The British Library Document Supply Centre's vast collection of conference proceedings.

UnionList
Includes library holdings listings linked to bibliographic records in WorldCat. The listings provide local holdings information so that users can search for locations of periodicals in their own and other libraries.

WorldAlmanac
Includes the full text of all of the Almanac titles: The World Almanac and Book of Facts, providing key facts on a wide variety of subjects internationally; The World Almanac of the U.S.A. with essential facts about the United States—current and historical; The World Almanac of US Politics, a guidebook to federal, state, and local governments; The World Almanac for Kids, covering information and facts of interest to middle-school children and teachers; and the Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, a comprehensive general encyclopedia.

 


Yellow line

Last revised July 09, 2009; John Lukow ã2000 all rights reserved.